Nashville, TN (August 14, 2019)
The Gospel Music Association (GMA) announced today the nominees for the 50th Annual GMA Dove Awards, revealed exclusively on Facebook Live with the help of Natalie Grant, Jekalyn Carr and Karen Peck. This historic celebration will take place on Tuesday, October 15 in Nashville, Tennessee. Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) will exclusively air the show on Sunday, October 20, 8 p.m. EST / 5 p.m. PST. Voting for the final winners will run August 21 through August 28.

Lauren Daigle leads artist nominations with six, followed by for KING & COUNTRY and Kirk Franklin with five. Crowder, Phil Wickham, Tasha Cobbs Leonard and TobyMac each honored with four nods. Top nominated writer/producer Wayne Haun scored 10 nominations.

“Congratulations to this year’s Dove Award nominees!” GMA President Jackie Patillo said. “This year, to commemorate our golden anniversary, we will celebrate some iconic Dove Awards moments from the last 50 years. This milestone reminds us all of the extraordinary people whose shoulders we are standing on today and how the sound has evolved over the years!”

The 50th celebration will be a powerful evening of high-energy and unforgettable vocal events paying tribute to 50 years of special appearances and sensational stage highlights over the decades. Performances representing Modern Rock, Rap/Hip Hop, Pop/Contemporary, Inspirational, Southern Gospel, Bluegrass, Country, Worship and more will make up an evening praising the rich musical diversity from the past, present and future of Gospel and Christian music. Nominees are determined by GMA’s professional members, and winners will be voted on by the entire GMA membership.

See the full list of the 2019 nominees here:

Artist of the Year

Hillsong UNITED
Lauren Daigle

Song of the Year

“Counting Every Blessing” Rend Collective
“Everything” TobyMac
“Joy.” for KING & COUNTRY
“Known” Tauren Wells
“Living Hope Phil Wickham
“Only Jesus” Casting Crowns
“Red Letters” Crowder
“The Breakup Song” Francesca Battistelli
“Who You Say I Am” Hillsong Worship
“Won’t He Do It” Koryn Hawthorne
“You Say” Lauren Daigle

New Artist of the Year

Aaron Cole
Austin French
Josh Baldwin
Kelontae Gavin
Riley Clemmons

Gospel Artist of the Year

Jekalyn Carr
Kirk Franklin
Koryn Hawthorne
Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Travis Greene

Worship Song of the Year

“Build My Life” Bethel Music
“Living Hope” Bethel Music
“Surrounded (Fight My Battles)” UPPERROOM
“Who You Say I Am” Hillsong Music
“Yes I Will” Vertical Worship

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

“Only Jesus” Casting Crowns
“God Only Knows” for KING & COUNTRY
“The Breakup Song” Francesca Battisteli
“You Say” Lauren Daigle
“Known” Tauren Wells

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

“Blessings On Blessings” Anthony Brown & group therAPy
“Make Room” Jonathan McReynolds
“Love Theory” Kirk Franklin
“Unstoppable” Koryn Hawthorne
“My God (feat. Mr. Talkbox)” Nashville Life Music

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

“Longing For Home” Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
“We Are All God’s Children” Gaither Vocal Bands
“How Great Thou Art (feat. Sonya Isaacs)” Josh Turner
“I Know I’ll Be There” Karen Peck & New River
“Even Me” Triumphant Quartet

Inspirational Film of the Year

Run The Race
Unbroken: Path to Redemption

Leave a Reply