NASHVILLE, Tenn. (August 11, 2023)
Fresh off its GMA Dove Award nominations for Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year (“Jesus, What A Lovely Name“) and Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year (“There Is A Mountain“), GRAMMY-winning quintet Gaither Vocal Band today releases a new album, Shine: The Darker the Night the Brighter the Light, available everywhere now via Gaither Music Group.

Group members Bill Gaither, Wes Hampton, Adam Crabb, Todd Suttles and Reggie Smith beam brightly on the 13-track project, produced by Gordon Mote and Gaither, featuring seamless harmonies and passionate performances. The Gaither Vocal Band (GVB) offers new renditions of “The Old Rugged Cross Made the Difference,” “Right Place, Right Time” and “Make Me an Instrument” and joins forces with CAIN to deliver a new twist to the worship hit “Rise Up (Lazarus).”

Combining smooth blends and catchy melodies with messages of redemption and encouragement, the collection is accompanied by a full-length, performance DVD and TV special, which premieres across multiple TV networks this week.

Of the album’s title track, Bill Gaither says, “This is a very important song with a powerful idea that I believe with all my heart. The world has never been stable, and according to God’s Word it is not going to be stable. We are called to be God’s light — to shine — in an unstable culture. Do we really believe and live out the power of love and grace? Every now and then we say about a song, ‘This is a special idea that can make a difference in the way we live.’ I think this is one of those songs.”

Songs from Shine: The Darker the Night the Brighter the Light will be featured on Gaither Radio on Pandora, Gaither Radio on Amazon and Gaither Radio on Spotify; and the audio will be streamed on the Gaither Music TV YouTube channel (3 million subscribers). Videos from the filming will be released on the Gaither Music TV YouTube channel as well as on the Gaither Facebook page. A special, worldwide YouTube Premiere will take place on August 16 at 10:00AM ET.

The new recording follows the quintet’s Let’s Just Praise the Lord (Gaither Music Group), produced by Bill Gaither and Gordon Mote, which received a 2023 GRAMMY nomination for Best Roots Gospel Album. Bill and Gloria Gaither and the GVB have collectively received eight GRAMMY Awards and more than two dozen nominations.

The group took home a 2022 GMA Dove Award for Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year for “My Feet Are on the Rock” from the GRAMMY-nominated album That’s Gospel, Brother. The song, also produced by Bill Gaither and ACM Award winner Gordon Mote, was a Top 5 radio hit. The group’s recent radio single, “How Beautiful Heaven Must Be,” also from That’s Gospel Brother is currently a Top 5 hit; and the debut single from the new Shine recording, ”Make the Morning Worth the Midnight,” is now going for adds.


Leave a Reply