Franklin, TN (September 16, 2019)
With a joyous opening performance of “Danzo En El Rio” by internationally known praise and worship group Miel San Marcos, ASCAP kicked off its 41st Annual ASCAP Christian Music Awards tonight at the Franklin Theatre in downtown Franklin, TN.

Top songwriters, artists and executives of the Christian music industry were in attendance to celebrate the most performed ASCAP Christian music songs over the last year. Top honors were presented including:

ASCAP Christian Music Songwriter of the Year:
David Garcia

ASCAP Golden Note Award:
Russ & Tori Taff

ASCAP Christian Music Song of the Year:
“Reckless Love,” written by Cory Asbury & Caleb Culver; performed by Cory Asbury; published by Bethel Music Publishing, Watershed Worship Publishing

ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year:
Capitol CMG Publishing

David Garcia was presented his second ASCAP Christian Songwriter of the Year award by artist Matthew West. His most-performed songs include “Everything” (TobyMac), “Grace Got You” (John Reuben) and “The Breakup Song” (Francesca Battistelli). The multiple Grammy and Dove Award-winning songwriter and producer is nominated in several categories for this year’s Dove Awards on October 15.

Multi Grammy-winning songwriter and artist Russ Taff and Grammy-nominated songwriter and author Tori Taff were honored with the ASCAP Golden Note Award which celebrates songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Singer, songwriter and artist Amy Grant shared poignant memories from her decades-long friendship with the couple before they were honored with surprise performances of “I Cry” (Joseph Habedank), “We Will Stand” (Chuck Cannon) and “Table in the Wilderness” (Darrell Brown with Cedric Sesley and Out for Souls).

The songwriters and publishers of “Reckless Love” received the ASCAP Christian Music Song of the Year Award. Co-writer and recording artist Cory Asbury treated the audience to a performance of the hit.

Capitol CMG Publishing claimed the ASCAP Christian Music Publisher of the Year Award for the 17th consecutive year for songs including “All My Hope,” “Do It Again,” “Everything,” “Resurrection Power” and more. Capitol CMG Executive Vice President Casey McGinty and his team were on hand to accept the award.

In addition to “Reckless Love,” the other two top Christian song performances — “Do It Again” and “Grace Got You” were introduced by Francesca Battistelli. Redman performed “Do It Again,” while Garcia and Glover performed “Grace Got You.” A total of 21 most-performed song awards were presented during the show.
Notable artists in attendance included Chris Cleveland (Stars Go Dim), Pat Barrett and Sanctus Real.

1) Guest presenter Amy Grant with ASCAP Golden Note Award honorees Russ and Tori Taff

2) Cory Asbury and Anna Asbury perform Song of the Year, “Reckless Love”

3) (‘Of the Year’ winners) Publisher of the Year Capitol CMG’s Casey McGinty and Brad O’Donnell, Songwriter of the Year David Garcia, Song of the Year “Reckless Love” songwriter-artist Cory Asbury

4) Guest presenter Matthew West with Songwriter of the Year David Garcia

Leave a Reply