Norfolk, VA (November 20, 2022)
Christian music titan MercyMe wrapped up their fall tour in Norfolk, Virginia November 20th. Lead singer Bart Millard had just been on vocal rest but came back strong with a 19-song setlist and sounded amazing, as usual. MercyMe Live Tour 2022 was in support of the multi-platinum band’s 11th studio album, Always Only Jesus with six songs performed from the new album including the title track, “Then Christ Came,” “Better Days Coming,” and “Grace Amazing.” The show, rescheduled from November 2021, featured special guests Rend Collective and Andrew Ripp along with outstanding performances by Bart Millard’s son, Sam Wesley.

Check out the MercyMe gallery below by Annette Holloway.

« of 33 »

In the middle of their set, MercyMe gathered around a campfire with a misty nighttime forest in the background, reminiscent of the cabin they frequent to write some of their hit songs. The “dudes around the fire pit” led the crowd in a rousing rendition of “Take Me Home, Country Roads” by John Denver and performed the pensive song “Dear Younger Me” from their Welcome to the New album.

The last third of the show featured fan favorite “Say I Won’t” and MercyMe’s legendary hit, “I Can Only Imagine.” Finishing the tour on a high note, Billboard’s Top Christian Artist of the 2010 decade cut loose with “Happy Dance” which had Chartway Arena hopping, and everyone covered in confetti. (See the full setlist below.)

After a Thanksgiving break, MercyMe and Chris Tomlin hit the road together for the first time on The Tomlin X MercyMe Tour performing Christmas favorites.

MercyMe Setlist 11-20-2022

(Songs from the new album in bold)

  1. Grace Amazing
  2. On Our Way (with Sam Wesley Millard – Bart’s son)
  3. Grace Got You
  4. Better Days Coming
  5. Almost Home
  6. Flawless
  7. Forgivable

Fire Pit Scene

  1. Greater
  2. Take Me Home, Country Roads (John Denver cover)
  3. Dear Younger Me
  4. Nothing But the Blood

Back to band

  1. Best News Ever
  2. Always Only Jesus
  3. Even If (With Graves Into Gardens)
  4. Word of God Speak
  5. Then Christ Came
  6. Say I Won’t


  1. I Can Only Imagine
  2. Happy Dance

Opening artists Rend Collective and Andrew Ripp motivated the crowd to get on their feet. Andrew Ripp sounded incredible with a unique style that seemed like a blend of Switchfoot and Zach Williams accompanied by a powerful performance. Then the infectious Irish group, Rend Collective, proved a force for Christ spreading joy to every corner of the arena. Lead singer and guitarist Chris Llewellyn delivered dynamic vocals with the band sprinting across the stage like a proper Irish band should. Jonathan Chu, former touring musician for Skillet, inspired and delighted the audience on violin. Sam Wesley, Bart Millard’s son, entertained the fans before the concert began, but later stole the show when he sang a duet with his dad on a song he cowrote “On Our Way.” It was definitely a special moment.

Check out these artists in the gallery below by Annette Holloway.

« of 42 »

Leave a Reply