Atlanta, GA (September 29, 2021)
Tribl Records, the new premiere recording home for Christian music and Gospel music artists, announces the release of the premiere South Asian worship artist, Maryanne “MJ” George. Affectionally, known as MJ, she will release her debut solo album, Not Just Stories, on her birthday, Friday, October 8th.

As a member of the multi-platinum selling, Maverick City Music, the album Not Just Stories features Maverick City Music members Dante Bowe, Aaron Moses and Naomi Raine. The EP, Not Just Stories, is Maryanne “MJ” George’s very first EP release and the first solo release from a member of Maverick City Music. It captures the essence of MJ’s faith walk, featuring a collection of deep-felt worship, uplifting praise songs and extended/spontaneous worship. The opening track, “Journey” is an artistic emotional and transparent heartfelt song that was birthed out MJ’s initial fear of being a songwriter. Inspired by the story of Abraham and Isaac, “I’m Gonna Worship” with Dante Bowe, is a simple song of victorious praise.

The expecting mother-to-be shares, “This album is sacred—it’s my gift to the Lord. Every song holds a tangible expression of a moment I’ve had with the Lord. I took a chance and went full-time with songwriting and artistry a few years ago. It was difficult for me, but this album became one of remembrance and grounding.”

A native of Queens, NY, currently residing in St. Louis, Mo, MJ grew up in a musical family and Christian home where music was the center of many family gatherings. She started by singing covers on Instagram, which started the development of a faithful fan following. In 2018 while attending Bethel Worship School, MJ sang at a school showcase and became discovered by Bethel Worship label executives in the audience; this discovery led to an invite to attend the songwriters camp that birthed Maverick City Music.

“Within 5 minutes we had the bridge for the song, ‘Not Just Stories.’ I had a real encounter with God during the writing process and was so overwhelmed by the reality of heaven and the reality of Jesus. He is not just a story,” shares Dante Bowe.

Not Just Stories track listing:
1. Prayer
2. Journey (Mitch Wong)
3. You Have My Yes (Naomi Raine)
4. I’m Gonna Worship (Dante Bowe)
5. Altar (Justus Tams)
6. Be Glorified (Spontaneous)
7. Not Just Stories (Aaron Moses)

Leave a Reply