Nashville, TN (August 4, 2021)
BMI has recently named Essential Music Publishing writer Ethan Hulse as BMI’s Christian Songwriter of the Year. This is the third consecutive year that he has received this honor. In addition, EMP received 11 individual song awards (listed below) representing 12 of the team’s writers.

“We are incredibly proud of this group of songs and the writers who helped create them,” shares Holly Zabka, Sr. Vice President for Essential Music Publishing and Head of Creative for Provident Label Group. “As a publishing company, it’s so encouraging to not just see a large number of songs represented, but so many different writers from our Essential Music Publishing team contributing. Honored to celebrate alongside them and excited for what’s next.”

Christian Songwriter of the Year Ethan Hulse was the co-writer on three songs recognized this year “Rescue Story” (Zach Williams), “Stand In Your Love” (Josh Baldwin), and “The Father’s House” (Cory Asbury). Hulse signed his first publishing deal with Essential Music Publishing in 2016 and has become one of the most sought-after writers in Christian music. With cuts also recorded by Cory Asbury, Bethel Music, Josh Baldwin, and Zach Williams, Hulse has seven No. 1 songs to his name.

Essential Music Publishing – BMI Song Awards (EMP writers):

“Rescue Story”
(Ethan Hulse, Andrew Ripp, Jonathan Smith, Zach William)

“Stand In Your Love”
(Ethan Hulse)

“The Father’s House”
(Ethan Hulse)

“God’s Not Done With You”
(Tauren Wells)

“See A Victory”
(Chris Brown, Steven Furtick, Jason Ingram)

“The Blessing”
(Chris Brown, Steven Furtick)

(Jason Ingram, Jonathan Smith, Zach Williams)

(Mark Hall)

“The God Who Stays”
(Jonathan Smith)

(Ran Jackson, Ricky Jackson)

“Yes I Will”
(Mia Fieldes, Jonathan Smith)

Leave a Reply