CCM EXCLUSIVE Music Video Premiere: Awaken Worship ‘Fearless’

After closing its doors at the start of the pandemic, San Diego-based Awaken Church reopened August 2020 in order to support and minister to their community that was wrestling with rising cases of drug abuse, suicide and a host of other mental and physical ailments. Growing from 8,000 to 10,000 members during this time, and ministering to 25,000 people online, the church faced some backlash for the decision to open, but safety protocols were utilized and COVID-19 outbreaks were minimal.

“We were one of very few churches in America that really said, ‘hey wait a minute, the church is the most essential institution on the planet, we can’t shut down, our community needs it too badly,’” remembers Mike Yeager, who leads Awaken Worship, is the Eastlake Campus Pastor and wrote or co-wrote all but one of the new songs on Awaken Worship’s national debut on the LP, Lionheart (Deluxe), releasing Oct. 1 via The Fuel Music. The eight-track recording is meant to give the suffering a voice and the persecuted a battle cry.

“We want to make music that people will listen to who don’t even listen to Christian music,” says Yeager. “The goal of our music program is really a missions effort.”

The “Fearless” video features vocalist Jaydn Valdez and was directed by Caleb Gonzalez. The song and the full LP was inspired by the church’s fierce stance on the importance of gathering together to encourage and support one another. Along with the courage and strength found in the lines and melodies of the new LP, there is also a sense of peace and simplicity.

Produced by GRAMMY Award-nominated Stephen Blake Kanicka (Kanye West, for KING & COUNTRY, Danny Gokey) and mixed by David Cook (Chris Tomlin, Zach Williams, Shawn Mendes), Lionheart (Deluxe) tracks were born in the heat of 2020, a year fraught with conflicting opinions, increased hostility and even threats coming toward the church.

Watch the video premiere here:

Lionheart (Deluxe) track listing:
1) Lionheart
2) There is Power In Your Name
3) Authority
4) Fearless
5) King of Glory
6) We’ve Already Won
7) Sound of Heaven
8) Authority (Piano Version)


Leave a Reply